20 Books Every Woman Should Read

A list by Emily Temple

With my hand constantly reaching for my phone and those new trend books that are always hot off the press, I’ve been having a hard time plucking up the courage to turn the page of a good quality read (there’s also the fact that I’m moving and my own books are all carefully packed away, but that’s besides the point). Seeing all of these “books you should read” lists gives me hope, but the intensity of these novels make me question how much I can relate them to my life and the sheer number of the books turns me away from the idea. Nevertheless, with summer already at my feet, I want to look at the world from someone else’s eyes. I want to go to different places and experience different times. I can’t wait.

  1. Bastard Out of Carolina, Dorothy Allison
  2. Sula, Toni Morrison
  3. The Unbearable Lightness of Being, Milan Kundera
  4. Against Interpretation, Susan Sontag
  5. The Complete Stories, Flannery O’Connor
  6. Magic for Beginners, Kelly Link
  7. A Visit from the Goon Squad, Jennifer Egan
  8. The Silent Woman, Janet Malcolm
  9. You Can’t Keep a Good Woman Down, Alice Walker
  10. The Liars’ Club, Mary Karr
  11. The Complete Claudine, Colette
  12. The Portable Dorothy Parker, Dorothy Parker
  13. Self-Help, Lorrie Moore
  14. Delta of Venus, Anaïs Nin
  15. Nightwood, Djuna Barnes
  16. The Golden Notebook, Doris Lessing
  17. White Teeth, Zadie Smith
  18. To the Lighthouse, Virginia Woolf
  19. The Edible Woman, Margaret Atwood
  20. Bad Behavior, Mary Gaitskill
One thought on “20 Books Every Woman Should Read

Leave a Reply

